View Full Version : Possible phishing scam
Drongo
6th October, 04:42 PM
Just got this e-mail saying it was from smart:
http://minds.nuim.ie/~drongo/images/phish.jpg
Now I don't recall signing up to pay online (I'm a Direct Debit customer) also the address the e-mail is from is clearly not something@smarttelecom.ie so I'm not clicking on that link. Maybe its legit but I'd rather get an overdue payment warning than give my CC details to some phishing scam.
Spear
6th October, 05:34 PM
Just got this e-mail saying it was from smart:
http://minds.nuim.ie/~drongo/images/phish.jpg
Now I don't recall signing up to pay online (I'm a Direct Debit customer) also the address the e-mail is from is clearly not something@smarttelecom.ie so I'm not clicking on that link. Maybe its legit but I'd rather get an overdue payment warning than give my CC details to some phishing scam.
Post the full source of the email and we can tell a lot more about it.
Smiler
6th October, 05:37 PM
eir lads com on now? who do you think did this aul thing?
[end scottish accented post]:)
TimTim
6th October, 06:11 PM
Check that the link actually goes to Smarttelecom.ie. If it does then most likely its a legit link but sent from one of their other domains.
I know Bank of Ireland email from boimail.com (or .ie can't remember)
Spear
6th October, 06:18 PM
Check that the link actually goes to Smarttelecom.ie. If it does then most likely its a legit link but sent from one of their other domains.
I know Bank of Ireland email from boimail.com (or .ie can't remember)
The reg info for smartsb.com claims to be regged to a company called XML workshop in Ireland, in the name of Eoin Campbell. Yet all the other domains (mysmart.ie, smarttelecom.ie) are regged in the Smart corporate name.
Hi folks,
It's encouraging to see that our members display such a vigilant attitude. :)
For my part, I must profess ignorance of this domain. Nevertheless, I would be certain that a member of our billing department would be best equipped to comment.
I will investigate this and update the thread on Monday.
al.
Drongo
6th October, 10:20 PM
Check that the link actually goes to Smarttelecom.ie. If it does then most likely its a legit link but sent from one of their other domains.
I know Bank of Ireland email from boimail.com (or .ie can't remember)
Checked the link, it goes to smart telecom, but shows an error page, specifically this one:
http://www.smarttelecom.ie/error.php
T'is probably me just being paranoid. If it's all legit I'll ring customer care on monday and ask what's up since I'm supposed to be on DD.
wobble_wobble
8th October, 05:23 PM
Lads, lads, lads, lads, lads,
even the though in your head that it might be a phishing scam should cause you to automatically delete it. Don't think about it, delete it, class it as spam and tell your mates.
The sooner more and more people realise that we need to dis-reguard this type of unsolicited rubbish the better. If they really needed you to contact them, they'll either call or write.
what are the bets that the origionator of the email is @xyzcrooks.com
WW
vBulletin® v3.8.5, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.